Category: 1978

1978-06-15 Vic Robertson Elementary named

Karl Hanner moved that the school in Mesa Ridge be named Vic Robertson, Jr. Elementary School and that money be appropriated to properly identify the school. John Reynolds moved to table the previous motion until the P.T.A or student body can be consulted for a name. Lynda Abernathy seconded the motion. Lynda Abernathy and John Reynolds voted for the motion, Vic Robertson abstained, Isaac Lopez, Sheridan Wingrove, Karl Hanner and Barbara Tew voted against the motion. The motion to table having failed, the board voted on the original motion with the following results: John Reynolds and Lynda Abernathy voted...

Read More

1978-04-13 Kathy Caraway named principal of Oak Forest Elementary

On a motion and second by Sheridan Wingrove and Barbara Tew and a unanimous vote Kathy Caraway was elected as principal of the new Oak Forest Elementary School. Kathy Caraway opened North Oaks Elementary in 1978. Prior to coming to North Oaks, Kathy served in numerous capacities for Round Rock ISD, She began her Round Rock career in 1973 where she taught at Spicewood and Voigt Elementary School in special education/early childhood. She became the librarian at Spicewood in 1976 and served as both librarian and assistant principal in 1977. – From Board of Trustees Meeting February 21,...

Read More