Category: Board of Trustees

1931-05-19 Goodbye coal, hello bathrooms

Trustees approve installation of gas heat in the school building, and direct that the coal bin be converted into a girls’ restroom. The existing toilets for boys were to receive individual flush bowls. Note: The Board voted to connect the “Mexican School” to the sewer system during their April 2, 1940 meeting. A discussion regarding connecting the “Negro School” to the sewer line took place during the January 5, 1943 meeting, but no action was taken. Nearly seven years later, during the December 6, 1949 meeting, the Board voted to provide natural gas and running water to the “Negro...

Read More

1979-05-10 Westwood High School named

Karl Hanner moved to name the new High School under construction in Anderson Mill Westwood High School. Sheridan Wingrove seconded the motion which passed by unanimous vote. Note: During the June 14, 1979 Board of Trustees meeting, Mr. Mike Rogers addressed the board regarding changing the name of Westwood High School to R. M. Williamson High School. The board took no action leaving the name as previously adopted. School colors of orange and white were adopted on July 16,...

Read More

1979-01-25 Norman Hall named Superintendent

On a motion and second and a unanimous vote the board awarded Dr. Norman Hall a three (3) year contract (1979-’80; 1980-’81; 1981-’82) at a salary of State-Schedule plus $12,000 per year plus auto allowances in the amount of $350 per month plus other benefits as stated in the contract. As stated in the Board Minutes, “Dr. Hall’s salary and work is to begin on July 1, 1979 with the assumption of full administrative responsibilities on July 1, 1979. Dr. Hall will begin on June 1 at the board invitation at regular...

Read More

1978-06-15 Vic Robertson Elementary named

Karl Hanner moved that the school in Mesa Ridge be named Vic Robertson, Jr. Elementary School and that money be appropriated to properly identify the school. John Reynolds moved to table the previous motion until the P.T.A or student body can be consulted for a name. Lynda Abernathy seconded the motion. Lynda Abernathy and John Reynolds voted for the motion, Vic Robertson abstained, Isaac Lopez, Sheridan Wingrove, Karl Hanner and Barbara Tew voted against the motion. The motion to table having failed, the board voted on the original motion with the following results: John Reynolds and Lynda Abernathy voted...

Read More