Category: Superintendent


Round Rock ISD was a small, rural school district with a student population under 1,000 students for the first sixty years of its existence. Although several smaller districts in the area consolidated with Round Rock ISD during the 1940s, a significant increase in student population did not occur since the land acquired was sparsely populated. The district increased substantially in physical size again in December 1969 through its consolidation with the Pond Springs Common County Line School District. The consolidation added 24 square miles of largely undeveloped west-side real estate. “White Flight” brings students north Student enrollment grew steadily...

Read More

1934 graduate reflects on special teacher, football

A very special teacher I remember was Helen Booth who went to bat for Mitchell Wolf so he could graduate with our class. Mitchell was very smart, but missed a lot of school to help work on the family farm. Because of Miss Booth, Mitchell did graduate with us, and went on to be a very successful top construction foreman. One of his many success stories is the work he oversaw on the construction of Bergstrom Air Force Base that was completed in 1942.

Read More

The story behind the first Dragon Yearbook

Dick Mayfield and I agreed that a great way to remember our fellow students’ accomplishments would be in a yearbook. RRHS had never had a yearbook. When they approached Mr. Perry, he dismissed our idea as “only a way to look at the girls’ pictures.”

Principal O.V. McDaniels originally said no to the yearbook idea, but later called us back into his office with a compromise — if we could sell $250 in ads in one hour, then we could have a yearbook.

Read More

List of Superintendents

M.G. York – 1913-1914 T.A. Ferguson – 1914-1915 L.J. Waggoner – 1915-1915 W.H. Emert – 1915-1915 J.E. Cook – 1915-1916 J.T. Shaver – 1916-1918 W.E. Cantrell – 1918-1921 W.R. Woolsey – 1921-1924 C.E. Brown – 1924-1925 George B. Hatley – 1925-1926 Ed A. Gay – 1926-1929 P.E. Dickison – 1929-1930 C.O. Britt – 1930-1939 O.F. (Oliver Floyd) Perry – 1939-1957 Noel Grisham – 1957-1979 Norman Hall – 1979-1984 Brent Rock – 1985-1988 Dan McLendon – 1988-1993 Tom Norris – 1994-1998 Tom Gaul – 1998-2005 Jesús Chávez – 2006-2013 Steve Flores –...

Read More